Five conditions now eligible for extra PIP support: All you need to know

Nick Ferrari slams DWP's treatment of Universal Credit claimants

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

PIP claimants can receive extra help from the Department for Work and Pensions if they fit under the five medical specific categories. These claimants will have additional support (AS) markers attached to their cases which will provide them with extra assistance during the claim process.

PIP is a benefit that helps to cover the additional costs of having a long-term health condition or disability. 

There are two seperate payments available under PIP, the first being available for those who struggle with daily tasks and the second to assist with mobility costs. 

The maximum amount for the daily living aspect is £89.60 per week and the mobility aspect can receive up to £62.55. 

The support provided by PIP is crucial for many with extra expenses due to their conditions, but some struggle with the complicated and often lengthy application process. 

The DWP identified five categories of conditions that will now be eligible for extra assistance when applying for PIP in order to make the application process easier and less stressful. 

Mental health conditions

This category includes any conditions that impact one’s mood, thinking and behaviour and anyone with the below conditions is eligible for the added support:

  • Severe depression
  • Bipolar disorder
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Obsessive compulsive disorder
  • Psychosis
  • Schizophrenia
  • Personality disorders

Behavioural conditions

Behavioural conditions with patterns of frequent inattention or disruption are included in this category, and claimants with severe ADHD or conduct disorder can claim additional support.

Learning disability

Claimants with reduced intellectual ability and difficulty with everyday activities fall under this category. 

Applicants in this category with down syndrome and fragile X syndrome can claim the additional support.

Developmental disorders

This category includes conditions that impairs physical, learning, language or behaviour aspects of life. 

Those with the following conditions will be able to claim the additional support:

  • Severe autistic spectrum disorder
  • Developmental delay
  • Speech or language disorders

Dementia or cognitive disorders

This category contains cognitive disorders that are a result of cognitive decline and includes those with compromised social and/or occupational functioning.

The following conditions can receive the extra application support:

  • Alzheimer’s
  • Dementia with Lewy bodies
  • Vascular dementia
  • Dementia associated with other conditions such as Parkinson’s disease
  • Severe brain injury that results in cognitive decline

Source: Read Full Article