Netflix makes huge change to subscriptions after Apple switches up iPhone and iPad app rules | The Sun

ANYONE planning to subscribe to Netflix through their iPhone or iPad may notice something a bit different from now on.

Apple recently made a massive change to its rules, which will certainly come as a relief to Netflix after losing almost a million subscribers recently.

The iPhone maker has relaxed how it takes the controversial "Apple Tax".

Apple has long taken a juicy cut of earnings from apps that process payments through iOS.

And developers face being banned if they try to get around it by providing a link to their website.

It's a thorny issue that has enraged Fortnite maker Epic, who dared to defy the rules a few years ago and found itself taken off the App Store as a result.

Read more about Netflix

Cracking Netflix hacks you probably didn’t know – including mystery button

Netflix asks users to PAY to share passwords – how much you could be charged

Apple has now made some changes to how it takes fees, meaning that some services like Netflix can avoid them altogether at last.

It applies to those deemed as "reader" apps, which is defined as providing "content that was previously purchased or content available from an app that users pay for on a recurring basis such as music, video, digital magazines, newspapers, books, and audio".

This means Netflix is among the few who are allowed to offer a subscription link that takes users onto a web page outside of Apple's reach.

But Apple does show a warning alert when you tap the button to subscribe.

Most read in Tech

TECH WIFE

Everything to know about Sergey Brin's wife Nicole Shanahan

APPLE JUICE

Warning over 'battery killer' mistakes that are sapping your iPhone's charge

MUSIC TO MY EARS

Sennheiser's new earbuds are SO good that I'm ready to ditch my favourite

SPACE FORCE

'Full halo' solar storm hits Earth amid warnings it could affect power systems

The message, first spotted by 9to5Mac, tells users: "You’re about to leave the app and go to an external website."

It warns that "any accounts or purchases made outside of this app will be managed by the developer".

Read More on The Sun

We named our son a strong, manly name but family laughed in our face at it

My neighbour has cut down LOADS of my tree – I’m absolutely fuming

"Your App Store account, stored payment methods, and related features, such as subscription management and refund requests, will not be available," the alert goes on.

"Apple is not responsible for the privacy or security of transactions made with this developer."

Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…

  • How to delete your Instagram account
  • What does pending mean on Snapchat?
  • How to check if you've been blocked on WhatsApp
  • How to drop a pin on Google Maps
  • How can I change my Facebook password?
  • How to go live on TikTok
  • How to clear the cache on an iPhone
  • What is NFT art?
  • What is OnlyFans?
  • What does Meta mean?

Get all the latest WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadget stories here.

We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk

    Source: Read Full Article