WhatsApp alert: Millions warned over loophole that means your texts aren't 'private' | The Sun

WHATSAPP is introducing a genius system to keep you safe – but it's not watertight.

The clever system stops people from taking screenshots of your View Once messages.

View Once is a "disappearing text" system built for sensitive texts.

Maybe you're sharing bank details, a private image or something else you don't want sticking around in a chat.

In a new app update this month, WhatsApp has closed a big loophole: blocking screenshots from being taken.

But it's not entirely safe: your text could still be preserved.

Read more on WhatsApp

How to hide your online status on WhatsApp

WhatsApp changes the time you have to UNSEND a text – don’t get caught out

A rogue chatter could simply use another device to take a photo or video of the screen.

There's no way for WhatsApp to stop this.

As always, the best advice is to be very careful with what you share online.

If you don't want something being on the internet or shared around, avoid sending it to anyone.

Most read in Tech

I-MAZING!

iPhone fans go wild for mind-blowing hack to locate handset that's switched off

RING RING

Three Ring Doorbell hacks you MUST know – or it could cost you

RED A-HEAD!

Space sleuths are freaking out over eerie Mars picture – but can you tell why?

TECH IT EASY

Ultimate iPhone travel hack EVERYONE going on holiday this year must know

Even people you trust now might not be so loyal in the future.

And someone might save an image and then end up being hacked themselves.

Blocking screenshots on disappearing messages adds a significant extra layer of security.

But you can't rely entirely on it – so always be cautious with who you're sending images, videos or even texts to.

If an image is extremely sensitive, consider showing the person in real life or finding a more secure way to get your message across.

Nevertheless, it's still a good idea to use View Once where you can, as it's better than leaving an image out in the open forever.

"View Once is already an incredibly popular way to share photos or media that don’t need to have a permanent digital record," WhatsApp explained in a new blog post.

"Now we’re enabling screenshot blocking for View Once messages for an added layer of protection."

The feature is currently in testing, and WhatsApp says it will "roll out soon".

Read More on The Sun

I was swallowed by a WHALE – I could feel the animal’s muscles squeezing me

You’re using your fan WRONG – dangerous mistakes to be aware of amid heatwave

Keep checking for app updates in the coming weeks.

You can do this in the Apple App Store for iPhone or the Google Play Store on Android.

Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…

  • How to delete your Instagram account
  • What does pending mean on Snapchat?
  • How to check if you've been blocked on WhatsApp
  • How to drop a pin on Google Maps
  • How can I change my Facebook password?
  • How to go live on TikTok
  • How to clear the cache on an iPhone
  • What is NFT art?
  • What is OnlyFans?
  • What does Meta mean?

Get all the latest WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadget stories here.

We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk

    Source: Read Full Article